#American Federal Government Tag

The American Federal Government, aka, the “federal government” or “U.S. government,” is the national government of the United States of America. It is a system of government by the U.S. Constitution. It was adopted in 1787 and went into effect in 1789. The federal government is responsible for overseeing the entire country and features three distinct branches.

These include:

  1. Legislative Branch: This branch is responsible for making and passing laws. It consists of the United States Congress. This is bicameral and includes two houses:
    • The Senate: Composed of 100 Senators (two from each state), with each Senator serving a six-year term.
    • The House of Representatives: Composed of 435 Representatives, with the number from each state based on its population. Representatives serve two-year terms.

    Also, the congress is responsible for drafting, debating, amending, and passing federal laws. It also has the power of the purse, controlling the federal budget and taxation.

  2. Executive Branch: This branch is responsible for enforcing and executing the laws passed by Congress. The head of the executive branch is the President of the United States, who is elected to a four-year term and can serve a maximum of two terms. The President is also the Commander-in-Chief of the armed forces, responsible for foreign policy, and plays a central role in domestic policy.

    In addition, the executive branch also includes various federal agencies and departments responsible for specific areas of government, such as the Department of State, the Department of Defense, and the Department of Justice.

  3. Judicial Branch: This branch interprets and applies the laws of the United States. It is headed by the Supreme Court of the United States, which consists of nine justices appointed for life by the President and confirmed by the Senate. In addition, the Supreme Court has the authority to review the constitutionality of laws, resolve disputes between states, and interpret federal laws.


The American Federal Government operates on a system of checks and balances. This means that each branch has specific powers and can check the actions of the other branches to prevent any one branch from becoming too powerful. This system is designed to ensure that the government serves the interests of the people. It also makes sure it upholds the principles of the U.S. Constitution.

In addition to the three branches, the federal government also includes numerous agencies, departments, and institutions responsible for various aspects of governance, including national defense, foreign policy, public health, transportation, and more. These entities work together to administer the laws and policies of the United States at the federal level.

Other Popular Tags

#Behavior Modification #Clinical Psychology #demiromantic #Difficulties with Food #Dr. Jonathan Keith #emotional health #functional depression #Habit #Immune disorders #Inclusive Massage #Infertility #Interpersonal Therapy #Mental Health Counselor #Mental Trauma #Mindfulness-Based (MBCT) #Monthly Meal Plan #Online Dialectical Behavioral Therapy #parenting issues #Pregnancy Massage #Relationship Disconnect #Somatic #stigmatized #Stress Programs #Weight Training